a walk on the ice in el calafate - Reisverslag uit El Calafate, Argentinië van sergio gigante - WaarBenJij.nu a walk on the ice in el calafate - Reisverslag uit El Calafate, Argentinië van sergio gigante - WaarBenJij.nu

a walk on the ice in el calafate

Door: sergio gigante

Blijf op de hoogte en volg sergio

07 Februari 2014 | Argentinië, El Calafate

It has been a whilesince my last blog, but you know what they say when you are having fun haha. Anyways i was sitting in the bus which was a bus ride 28 hours( still do not know how I survived that ride ). next to me i had an australian guy that had the same plans as I did in el calafate. So far always when I am traveling through argentina i sit next to an argetinean english teacher. He told me that he had vacation now and like to travel across argentina, because other countries were too expansive to travel to such as chile, brasil and uruguay. During the bus ride i had to cross 2 provincial borders. At every border there was a passport control which i found odd but still good. However the way that they checked at your passport was neglicence to say at the least, it was just a quick glance at the passport and he gave it back to me, i guess he nevex saw my name. At rio gallegos ( a stop along the way) a room mate in bariloche hopped on the bus. At calafate me, the australian guyband the room mate went to our own hostel, however we stayedin contact, because we wanted to do the glacier hike together.

At the hostel my room was across the road in a barn transformed into a couple of shared rooms, that was weird, i took a shower where water occiasonally ran, furthermore there were no hooks to hang your clothes on. Entering the common area there was a sign that i had to rent to cupboards to eat my dinner seriously!!!!!!! I was fuming after my dinner of all the inconveniences. Ah well part of the exprience lets say!.

The next day i went to the glaciar " el perrito moreno" to hike on it. I only got 1 word for the glaciar and that is 'AMAZING!!!!' It is very impressive to see how large and wide such thing can grow and it is still growing. When arriving at the glaciar we had 1 hour and a half the time to wander around the balconies and see the glaciar from upclose. Every person was holding his camera to get a snapshot of ice that falls off the glaciar from time to time. Every timewhdn a chunk of ice falls off youhear a thunderous sound. After the balconies i had a boat ride to the other side of the lake to start the hiking part. First i hiked upon the glaciar where you so many colors of blue it is increible to see. The hike took about an hour and a half. At the end of the tour the tour guides were offering me some whisky with ice from the glaciar. After that we had a half an hour hike through the forest back to the the boat. During the day it seemed that the ice was hanging colors of blue, depending how the sun was shining upon the glaciar.

Thea rest of the days that i was there i walked around the area a bit, but nothin was as special as the glaciar.

That was my experience of el calafate my next destination is Ushuaia to the place where the worlds end.

Ps uploading photos is still not working if you want to see my photos send me a message on facebook, i will share my album with you. Let me know!!!

Hasta la proxima vez!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

sergio

Het verhaal van de jongen dat 6 maanden door zuid amerika gaat trekken.

Actief sinds 30 Dec. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 155
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4529

Voorgaande reizen:

30 December 2013 - 08 Juli 2014

giro south america

Landen bezocht: